User Services: Employment

Quick Facts

• AS Students are hired with the expectation of working winter and fall semesters.
• There are opportunities to work for spring and summer semesters. It is not required to work these semesters to keep your fall/winter eligibility.

Library Confidentiality

The Library has a very strict policy regarding the confidentiality of personal information. The extent of what is considered personal information will be stressed throughout your employment. Failure to comply with honoring this confidentiality will result in immediate dismissal.

Library Employment Documents

• Library Policies for Student Employment
• User Services Student Employment Guide

Quick Links

• American Library Association Code of Ethics
• SVSU FERPA and University Student (PDF)
• SVSU Drug-Free Workplace
• SVSU Substance Abuse Policy and Regulations
• SVSU Title IX (Sexual assault and harassment)
• SVSU Code of Student Conduct (PDF)
• Career Services Student Employment​

User Services students are hired in as one of two specialties:

• Circulation Desk students, with primary responsibilities including
  • Regular Circulation Desk coverage including checking books in and out, answering the telephone, etc.
  • Cash register transactions for fines and print balance
  • Shelving books
  • Retrieving materials from our book drops
  • Inventory and maintenance of Library collections
• Resource Sharing students, with primary responsibilities including 
  
  • Processing ILL requests from our faculty, staff and students
  • Processing ILL and MeLCat requests from other libraries
  • Processing incoming mail related to ILL and MeLCat
  • Packaging outgoing mail to other libraries
  • Making campus deliveries to faculty and staff offices

In both areas of specialties there is cross-training:

• All resource sharing students are expected to perform basic Circulation Desk activities
• All Circulation students are expected to assist with basic resource sharing activities

No specialized skills are required for these positions; you will be trained for what you need to know.  Systems and processes you will be trained in include:

• Using the staff interface for our CardCat library system
• Using ILLiad for interlibrary loan and document delivery activities
• Using various software to scan multi-page documents in TIF and PDF formats
• Using MS Word for MailMerge functions related to ILLiad
• Other database management systems and proprietary programs as required for special projects

Immediate Fireable Offenses

• Revealing what another patron has checked out (current of in the past)
• Revealing personal information about patrons, student workers or staff (phone numbers, addresses, etc.)
• Insubordination
• Theft of materials or money

Core Values

• Respect the sacrifices made by fellow students
• The reputation of our department and library is won or lost one interaction at a time.  Be professional and positive.

Work

• Be on time and stay for the entire duration of each shift. 
  • Any exception must be approved by a supervisor at least one complete workday in advance (emergencies excepted)
• You cannot work more than 8 hours on clock in any day
• You cannot work more than 20 hours (fall/winter) or 40 hours (spring/summer, intersession or spring break)
• Abide by the dress code (see attached)

Making sense of UltraTime grace periods:

Example: shift is from 10-12:30

• Before = 12 minutes (e.g.,
• 9:48 = 10 (i.e., time between 9:48 and 9:59 is rounded up to 10 am start time)
• 9:47 = 9:47
• After = 6 minutes
• 12:36 = 12:00 (i.e., any time between 12:31 and 12:36 is rounded down to 12:00)
• 12:37 = 12:37

Circulation and Resource Sharing

Access Services students are hired in as one of two specialties:

• Circulation Desk students, with primary responsibilities including
  • Regular Circulation Desk coverage including checking books in and out, answering the telephone, etc.
  • Cash register transactions for fines and print balance
  • Shelving books
  • Retrieving materials from our book drops
  • Inventory and maintenance of Library collections
• Resource Sharing students, including Interlibrary Loan, MeLCat, and Document Delivery duties.  These consist of:
  • Processing ILL requests from our faculty, staff and students
  • Processing ILL and MeLCat requests from other libraries
  • Processing incoming mail related to ILL and MeLCat
  • Packaging outgoing mail to other libraries
  • Making campus deliveries to faculty and staff offices

In both areas of specialties there is cross-training:

• All resource sharing students are expected to perform basic Circulation Desk activities
• All Circulation students are expected to assist with basic resource sharing activities

No specialized skills are required for these positione: you will be trained for what you need to know.  Systems and processes you will be trained in include:

• Using the staff interface for our CardCat library system
• Using ILLiad for interlibrary loan and document delivery activities
• Using various software to scan multi-page documents in TIF and PDF formats
• Using MS Word for MailMerge functions related to ILLiad
• Other database management systems and proprietary programs as required for special projects

Dec 5, 2016

AS Job Description

Saginaw Valley State University Job Description

Job Title:  Student Employee in the Access Services Department of the Melvin J. Zahnow Library.

Job Summary:  Provide services for library patrons, maintain library collections, and other duties as assigned.

ESSENTIAL DUTIES & RESPONSIBILITIES:

Circulation

• Check library materials out to patrons, as well as renewing them, and checking them back in.
• Take in library fines, and make change.
• Enter patron records into the library database.
• Fill copy machines with paper and remove jams.
• Collect items from book drops, and from within the library.
• Re-shelve returned items.
• Maintain good order of the libraries collections as well as the reserve collection.
• Performing basic resource sharing desk tasks.
• Answer the department’s telephone, answer questions, and relay patrons to the appropriate departments.

Resource Sharing 

• Duties as assigned.
• Requesting materials for SVSU patrons from other libraries.
• Locating and copying materials owned by SVSU for e-mail to other libraries.
• Preparing SVSU owned materials for transfer to other libraries.
• Performing basic circulation desk tasks.

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS:

• Must be enrolled in classes at SVSU.
  • At least 6 credits during the fall and winter semesters.
  • At least 6 credits during the spring and summer semesters combined, or pre-registered for at least 6 fall credits.
• Must have good language skills.
• Must be able to lift small amounts of weight over your head.
• Required to work with Library of Congress and Dewey decimal call number system.

SUPERVISION RECEIVED:  Access Services Assistants as well as the Head of Access Services.

SUPERVISION EXERCISED:  None.

WORKING CONDITIONS:  Employees work indoors and should not be effected by adverse weather conditions.